Visit the Nature Store

Event calendar

    • Mon, February 13, 2023
    • 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
    • Visitors Center
    Register

    Help revitalize the native pollinator garden in front of the visitors center!

    • Tue, February 14, 2023
    • 9:00 AM
    • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge
    Register

    Join the Friends for a monthly membership social. At this social, you will have a chance to meet the Friends executive director, hear more about the Friends volunteer opportunities and how to get involved, and have a snack and coffee while you watch the birds in the Visitor's Center. 


    • Wed, February 15, 2023
    • 5:00 PM
    • Laguna Vista Public Library
    • 10
    Register

    Join the Friends at the Laguna Vista Public Library for a storytime and craft. We will be reading the book: "Lizards for Lunch: A Roadrunners Tale" and doing a diorama of a desert/south Texas scene.

    • Sat, February 18, 2023
    • 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
    • Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge
    • 9
    Register

    Join the Friends for a guided bike ride on Steve Thompson Wildlife Drive. The surface will be mostly paved, but rough. Off-road or hybrid bikes required. 

    • Sat, February 18, 2023
    • 10:00 AM
    • Visitors Center
    Register

    Join us for a book signing event featuring our long-time volunteer and author, David Book! He will be available to sign his most famous title, "Laguna Atascosa: A Place Like No Other", at the Visitors Center at 10 AM. 

    • Thu, February 23, 2023
    • 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
    • Laguna Atascosa NWR Visitor Center
    • 0
    Join waitlist

    Join us for our Friends Science Series Workshop for kids where we will be learning all about native plants. 

Past events

Sat, February 04, 2023 World Wetlands Day: 2 pm-4pm
Sat, February 04, 2023 World Wetlands Day: 12 pm- 2 pm
Sat, February 04, 2023 World Wetlands Day: 10 am-12 pm
Sat, February 04, 2023 World Wetlands Day: 8am-10am
Fri, February 03, 2023 Wild Friends Storytime
Sat, January 28, 2023 Bike the Bahia
Sat, January 28, 2023 Breakfast with the Birds
Fri, January 27, 2023 Breakfast with the Birds
Thu, January 26, 2023 Breakfast with the Birds
Thu, January 19, 2023 LANWR Recreational and Volunteer Opportunities
Thu, January 19, 2023 Friends Science Series Workshop: Tracks, Scat, Skins, and Skulls
Wed, January 18, 2023 Wild Friends Storytime
Fri, January 06, 2023 Wild Friends Storytime
Sat, December 17, 2022 Feed the Birds/Docent Walk, VC
Thu, December 15, 2022 Friends Science Series Workshop: Invasive Species: Hunting and Field Techniques
Thu, December 08, 2022 Christmas at the STEC
Sat, December 03, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime
Thu, November 17, 2022 Friends Science Series Workshop: Pollinators
Sat, November 12, 2022 Feed the Birds/Docent Walk
Wed, November 09, 2022 29TH ANNUAL RIO GRANDE VALLEY BIRDING FESTIVAL
Sat, November 05, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime
Thu, October 20, 2022 Friends Science Series Workshop: Bird 101
Fri, October 14, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime & Feed the Birds
Wed, October 12, 2022 National Wildlife Refuge Week- Mesquite Trail Hike
Wed, October 12, 2022 National Wildlife Refuge Week- Mesquite Trail Hike
Tue, October 11, 2022 Feed the Birds/Docent Walk
Sat, October 08, 2022 National Wildlife Refuge Week- Feed the Birds/Docent Walk
Sat, October 01, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime & Feed the Birds
Fri, September 23, 2022 Homeschool Science Series Workshop: Family Fish Camp
Sat, September 17, 2022 Feed the Birds/Docent Walk, VC
Sat, September 10, 2022 Feed the Birds/Docent Walk, VC
Thu, September 08, 2022 Bahia Grande Documentary
Sat, September 03, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime & Feed the Birds
Fri, July 29, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime
Fri, July 22, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime
Fri, July 15, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime
Sat, July 09, 2022 "Bahia Grande" Documentary Premier
Fri, July 08, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime
Fri, July 01, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime
Fri, July 01, 2022 Wild Friends Storytime

Friends of Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 
22688 Buena Vista Rd., Los Fresnos, TX 78566

© 2022 Friends of Laguna Atascosa NWR. All Rights Reserved


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software